AEPM 2021

Programme

Annual conference of the Association of European Printing Museums

Imprimer à Offenbach : l’art d’un métier et du métier dans l’art

Conférence en ligne
20-22 mai 2021

L’événement est organisé conjointement par le Musée Klingspor et le Musée d’histoire locale d’Offenbach (Haus der Stadtgeschichte). Exceptionnellement, cette année, il est proposé sous forme de conférences via Zoom. Nous espérons pouvoir réunir les conférenciers à Offenbach ainsi qu’un nombre strictement limité de membres du personnel des musées locaux pour les conférences et les discussions qui seront diffusées en direct. Seront diffusées également, diverses visites en direct ou en différé de lieux d’intérêt pour l’imprimerie et le patrimoine graphique locaux. Au cas où les conditions de santé ne permettraient pas aux conférenciers de se réunir à Offenbach, ceux-ci donneront leurs conférences directement sur Zoom.

Les conférences seront principalement données en anglais.

Si vous souhaitez participer à la conférence, veuillez contacter Dorothee Ader au Musée Klingspor : dorothee.ader@offenbach.de. Vous recevrez le lien d’accès et les détails nécessaires en temps utile avant la conférence.

La participation est gratuite, mais un don aux musées hôtes pour aider à couvrir les frais sera accepté avec plaisir.

Les intervenants

Joseph Belletante, directeur du Musée de l’imprimerie et de la communication graphique, Lyon, France // Françoise et Johannes Despalles-Strugalla, Despalles éditions, Paris (France) et Mayence (Allemagne) // Dr Eva Hanebutt-Benz, ancienne conservatrice du Gutenberg Museum, Mayence, Allemagne // Martyn Kramek, Book Art Museum, Łódź, Pologne // Walter Raffaelli, Raffaelli editore, Rimini, Italie // Stefan Soltek, directeur du Klingspor Museum, Offenbach, Allemagne// Christina Wildgrube,  plasticienne, Leipzig, Allemagne.

 


Programmes parallèles aux musées d’Offenbach et en ligne

Le programme en ligne diffère légèrement de celui qui sera suivi par le nombre limité de participants que nous espérons pouvoir accueillir à Offenbach.


 

Programme Offenbach

Programme en ligne

Jeudi 20 mai 2021

Jeudi 20 mai 2021

Galerie industriel du Musée d’histoire locale de la Ville d’Offenbach En ligne
16:00
Enregistrement
16.30 (Central European Summer Time)
Ouverture d’accès à la visioconférence Zoom
17:00
Bienvenue
Dr. Stefan Soltek, Dr. Jürgen Eichenauer, Dr. Felix Schwenke
17:00
Bienvenue
Dr. Stefan Soltek, Dr. Jürgen Eichenauer, Dr. Felix Schwenke)
Film d’introduction Film d’introduction
17:30
Dr. Eva Hanebutt-Benz
Savoir-faire en amont, en aval : Impression et livre dans la région Rhin-Main. (Eng)
17:30
Dr. Eva Hanebutt-Benz
Savoir-faire en amont, en aval : Impression et livre dans la région Rhin-Main. (Eng)
18.00
Film Manroland
18:00
Film Manroland
18.30
Dîner
19:00
Programme musical, avec Jana Gerhart

Vendredi 21 mai 2021

Vendredi 21 mai 2021

Atelier du Musée d’histoire locale de la Ville d’Offenbach  + Musée Klingspor En ligne
9:30
Martyn Kramek (Book Art Museum, Łódź, Pologne)
Fonderie typographique et l’art du livre à Łódź. (ENG)
9:30
Martyn Kramek
(Book Art Museum, Łódź, Pologne)

Fonderie typographique et l’art du livre à Łódź. (ENG)
2018 a marqué le 25e anniversaire du Book Art Museum de Łódź, réputé pour sa collection d’art du livre contemporain et de matrices historiques pour la fonderie typographique. Les origines du Book Art Museum remontent cependant aux années 1980 quand il a commencé comme presse privée. La conférence présentera le développement du Musée, en se concentrant sur ses collections les plus précieuses et les histoires derrière elles. Il racontera également l’histoire de la découverte récente dans la collection d’un jeu relativement complet de matrices d’une police de caractères dont aucune impression est connue et qui n’a probablement jamais été fondue, et l’histoire du projet qui l’a fait revivre.
Martyn Kramek est un chercheur, éditeur et conservateur qui travaille avec le Book Art Museum depuis 2004. Ses intérêts incluent la conception de caractères et l’histoire de la typographie moderne.
10:15
Francoise Despalles, Johannes Strugalla (Despalles Edition, Xylon, Mayence et Paris)
L’art et le message. La culture d’impression. (FR, ENG)
10:15
Francoise Despalles, Johannes Strugalla (Despalles Edition, Xylon, Mayence et Paris)
L’art et le message. La culture d’impression. (FR, ENG)
11:00
Walter Raffaelli (Rimini, Italie), assisté par Anton Würth
Offenbach – impression, édition lyrique et littéraire (I, ENG)
11:00
Walter Raffaelli (Rimini, Italie), assisté par Anton Würth
Offenbach – impression, édition lyrique et littéraire. (I, ENG)
Qu’ont en commun l’impression et l’édition de poésie? Comment les textes et les images occupent-ils la page? Walter Raffaeli offre son expérience dans le domaine comme moyen d’illustrer les forces motrices de la communication à travers la pratique de l’impression. Le dialogue qu’il a engagé avec l’imprimeur en taille-douce et artiste du livre Anton Würth est particulièrement intéressant. Leur collaboration s’est avérée particulièrement réussie dans la technique rare de la lithographie gravée. Les deux protagonistes partagent le point de vue que la langue de la ligne a un lien direct avec le texte en tant que linéament littéral de la langue, qui sont tous deux des signes des temps.
Walter Raffaeli est né en 1958 à Pesaro, en Italie et a étudié à la Scuola del Libro, Urbino. Après avoir obtenu sa maîtrise (Maestro d’Arte), il a suivi des cours de techniques graphiques originales à l’Académie Raffaello di Urbino. Afin de poursuivre sa spécialisation, il a ouvert son propre atelier de lithographie et a produit ses premiers livres qui ont depuis été exposés au Museum of Modern Art de New York. En 1992, Raffaeli a fondé sa propre maison d’édition spécialisée dans la poésie moderne. À ce jour, quelque 800 titres ont été publiés de la poésie italienne et sud-américaine.
12:00 – 13:30
Pause déjeuner
12:00 – 13:30
Pause déjeuner
14:00
Joseph Belletante (Musée de l’imprimerie et de la communication graphique, Lyon, France)
Ne pas plier / Posters and graphic design. Printed matters by Grapus. (ENG)
14:00
Joseph Belletante (Musée de l’imprimerie et de la communication graphique, Lyon, France)
Ne pas plier / Posters and graphic design. Printed matters by Grapus. (ENG)
En 2018 et 2020, le Musée de l’imprimerie et de la communication graphique a organisé deux expositions sur le travail du collectif GRAPUS (1968-1990) et sur l’un de ses membres fondateurs, Gérard Paris-Clavel (son travail depuis 1990). Cet exposé présentera la construction de ces deux projets différents et complémentaires qui représentent des formes vivantes d’action graphique politique qui passent de la rue aux ateliers d’artistes et d’imprimeurs. Une philosophie et un art des affiches qui peuvent aussi influencer le musée – souvent refermé sur lui-même – en le poussant à s’ouvrir et à partager son espace avec les autres en célébrant la pluralité des acteur(e)s impliqué(e)s dans le processus d’impression.
Joseph Belletante est directeur et conservateur du Musée de l’imprimerie et de la communication graphique de Lyon. Ses intérêts de recherche incluent les nouveaux médias et les études visuelles, l’iconologie et les pratiques culturelles.
14:45
Christina Wildgrube (plasticienne, Leipzig)
Images sorties de la casse d’imprimeur. (ENG)
14:45
Christina Wildgrube (plasticienne, Leipzig)
Images sorties de la casse d’imprimeur. (ENG)
15:30
Film présentant l’atelier d’impression des musée d’Offenbach.
15:45
Pause café
15:45
Pause café
16:15 – 18:00
Visites et présentation des ateliers d’impression de la Hochschule für Gestaltung, Druckwerkstatt (Dr. Dorothee Ader, Monika Jäger) et de la reconstruction de la presse lithographique de Senefelder à la Haus der Stadtgeschichte (Dominik Gussmann).
16:15 – max. 16:45
Présentation  de la reconstruction de la presse lithographique de Senefelder à la Haus der Stadtgeschichte
17:00
Film sur Rainer Gerstenberg, l’un des derniers fondeurs de caractères, dans lequel il parle de sa fonderie de caractères et montre son travail.
18:15 (Klingspor Museum)
Dr. Stefan Soltek
Présentation du Macimono (1955) de Jean Miró’. A rare scroll printed in lithography and woodcut. (ENG)
18:15 (Klingspor Museum)
Dr. Stefan Soltek
Présentation du Macimono (1955) de Jean Miró’. A rare scroll printed in lithography and woodcut. (ENG)
Makemono est le titre d’un rouleau en soie de dix mètres de long, créé par l’artiste espagnol Joan Miró. Exécuté en lithographie, avec ajoutés en gravure sur bois, ce format extrême a offert à Miró un terrain unique pour déployer les caractéristiques quasi-métaboliques de son langage de formes et de couleurs dans une abondance imaginative sans fin. À l’occasion de la conférence de l’AEPM, le rouleau sera remis au Musée de Klingspor par son propriétaire à titre de dépôt.
18:30
Dîner

Samedi 22 mai 2021

Samedi 22 mai 2021

Dans les ateliers du Klingspor Museum et de la Haus der Stadtgeschichte En ligne
11:00 – 13:00
Visites guidées des ateliers d’impression à Offenbach Künstler*innen/Artists
avec Anton Würth, Usus, and Phillipp Hennevogl.
11:00
Ouverture d’accès à la visioconférence Zoom (Central European Summer Time)
13:00 – 14:30
Pause déjeuner
Café trolley and Bierzeltgarnituren à Büsinghof.
11:30
Visites guidées des ateliers d’impression à Offenbach
avec Usus.
14:30
Le best of des collections du Musée Klingspor.
Film sur Rainer Gerstenberg, l’un des derniers fondeurs de caractères, dans lequel il parle de sa fonderie de caractères et montre son travail. Open access to the filmed talks and movies on the AEPM-Website (live).
17:00
Clôture du colloque
Dr. Stefan Soltek, Dr. Jürgen Eichenauer.

AEPM 2021

Programme

Annual conference of the Association of European Printing Museums

Printing in Offenbach: the art of a craft and the craft in the art

Online conference
20-22 May 2021

The event is being hosted by the Klingspor Museum and the Offenbach Local History Museum (Haus der Stadtgeschichte). Exceptionally this year it is being offered as a Zoom conference. We hope to be able to bring the speakers together in Offenbach along with the staff of the host museums for the talks and discussions which will be livestreamed with various live and recorded visits to local places of printing and heritage interest. In the event that prevailing health conditions prevent the speakers from meeting in Offenbach, they will give their talks directly on Zoom.

The talks will be given principally in English.

If you would like to take part in the conference please contact Dr. Dorothee Ader at the Klingspor Museum: dorothee.ader@offenbach.de. You will receive the access link and necessary details in good time before the conference.

Participation is free of charge, though a donation to the host museums to help defray costs will be gladly accepted.

The speakers

Joseph Belletante, curator of the Museum of printing and graphic communication, Lyon, France // Françoise and Johannes Despalles-Strugalla, Despalles éditions, Paris (France) and Mainz (Germany) // Dr Eva Hanebutt-Benz, former curator of the Gutenberg Museum, Mainz, Germany // Martyn Kramek, Book Art Museum, Łódź, Poland // Walter Raffaelli, Raffaelli editore, Rimini, Italy // Stefan Soltek, director of the Klingspor Museum, Offenbach, Germany // Christina Wildgrube, Bildende Künstlerin, Leipzig, Germany

 


Parallel programmes: Offenbach / online

The online programme differs slightly from that followed by the limited number of participants that we hope to be able to accommodate in Offenbach.


Offenbach programme

Online programme

Thursday 20 May 2021

Thursday 20 May 2021

Industrial gallery of the
Offenbach Local History Museum
Online
16:00
Registration
16.30 (Central European Summer Time)
Start Zoom meeting entry 
17:00
Welcome
Dr. Stefan Soltek, Dr. Jürgen Eichenauer, Dr. Felix Schwenke
17:00
Welcome
Dr. Stefan Soltek, Dr. Jürgen Eichenauer, Dr. Felix Schwenke)
Filmed Introduction Filmed Introduction
17:30
Dr. Eva Hanebutt-Benz
The Rhine-Main-Area: A known printer’s ground along its rivers. (Eng)
17:30
Dr. Eva Hanebutt-Benz
The Rhine-Main-Area: A known printer’s ground along its rivers. (Eng)
18.00
Film Manroland
18:00
Film Manroland
18.30
Dinner
.
19:00
Musical programme, with Jana Gerhart

Friday 21 May 2021

Friday 21 May 2021

Offenbach Local History Museum printshop + Klingspor Museum Online
9:30
Martyn Kramek (Book Art Museum, Łódź, Poland)
Typecasting and book art in Łódź. (ENG)
9:30
Martyn Kramek
(Book Art Museum, Łódź, Poland)

Typecasting and book art in Łódź. (ENG)
2018 marked the 25th anniversary of the Book Art Museum in Łódź, renowned for its collection of contemporary book art and historical matrices for type founding. The origins of the Book Art Museum go back to the 1980’s however when it started as a private press. The talk will present the development of the Museum, focusing on its most valuable collections and the stories behind them. It will also recount the story of the recent discovery in the matrix collection of a relatively complete range of foundry matrices of a hitherto unknown typeface which had never been seen in print and which had probably never even been cast, and the story of how it was brought back to life.
Martyn Kramek is a researcher, publisher and curator who has been working with the Book Art Museum since 2004. His interests include type design and the history of the modern typography.
10:15
Francoise Despalles, Johannes Strugalla (Despalles Edition, Xylon, Mainz & Paris)
L’art et le message. La culture d’impression. (FR, ENG)
10:15
Francoise Despalles, Johannes Strugalla (Despalles Edition, Xylon, Mainz & Paris)
L’art et le message. La culture d’impression. (FR, ENG)
11:00
Walter Raffaelli (Rimini, Italy), assisted by Anton Würth
Offenbach – printing, editing lyric and literature (I, ENG)
11:00
Walter Raffaelli (Rimini, Italy), assisted by Anton Würth
Offenbach – printing, editing lyric and literature (I, ENG)
What do printing and publishing poetry have in common? How do texts and images occupy the page? Walter Raffaeli offers his experience in the field as a means of illustrating the driving forces of communication through the practice of printing. Of particular interest is the dialogue which he engaged in with the copperplate printer and book artist Anton Würth. Their collaboration proved particularly successful in the rare technique of stone engraving. Both protagonists share the view that the language of the line has a direct connection to the text as a literal lineament of the language, both of which are signs of the times.
Walter Raffaeli was born 1958 in Pesaro, Italy and studied at the Scuola del Libro, Urbino. Having obtained his MA (Maestro d’Arte) he took courses in original graphic techniques at the Accademia Raffaello di Urbino. Due to his specialisation he opened his own lithographic workshop and produced his first books which have since been exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art, New York. In 1992 Raffaeli founded his own publishing house specialised in modern poetry. To date some 800 titles have been published concerning Italian and South American poetry.
12:00 – 13:30
Lunch break
12:00 – 13:30
Lunch break
14:00
Joseph Belletante (Lyon, France)
Ne pas plier / Posters and graphic design. Printed matters by Grapus. (ENG)
14:00
Joseph Belletante (Lyon, France)
Ne pas plier / Posters and graphic design. Printed matters by Grapus. (ENG)
In 2018 and 2020 the Museum of Printing and Graphic Communication (Lyon, France) organised exhibitions of the work of the GRAPUS collective (1968-1990) and of one of its founding members, Gérard Paris-Clavel (his work since 1990). This talk will present the construction of these two different and complementary projects which represent lively forms of political graphic action which pass from the street to the workshops of artists and printers. A philosophy and an art of posters which can also influence the museum – often closed in on itself – by pushing it to open up and share its space with others by celebrating the plurality of actors involved in the printing process.
Dr Joseph Belletante is director and curator of Lyon’s Museum of Printing and Graphic Communication. His research interests include the new media and visual studies, iconology and cultural practices.
14:45
Christina Wildgrube (visual artist, Leipzig)
Pictures born out of the letter-case. (ENG)
14:45
Christina Wildgrube (visual artist, Leipzig)
Making type a picture (ENG)
15:30
Film about the printshop in Offenbach.
15:45
Coffee break
15:45
Coffee break
16:15 – 18:00
Visits in small groups
Talks and presentation at the printshops of the Hochschule für Gestaltung, Druckwerkstatt (Dr. Dorothee Ader, Monika Jäger) and the lithographic press at the Haus der Stadtgeschichte (Dominik Gussmann).
16:15 – max. 16:45
Talk and presentation of the lithographic press at the Haus der Stadtgeschichte
17:00
Film about Rainer Gerstenberg one of the last trained type casters who talks about his type foundry and shows his work.
18:15 (Klingspor Museum)
Dr. Stefan Soltek
Presentation of Jean Miró’s Macimono (1955). A rare scroll printed in lithography and woodcut. (ENG)
18:15 (Klingspor Museum)
Dr. Stefan Soltek
Presentation of Jean Miró’s Macimono (1955). A rare scroll printed in lithography and woodcut. (ENG)
Makemono is the title of a transverse scroll, ten meters long, created by the Spanish artist Joan Miró. Executed as a lithograph, with individual passages added in woodcut, the extreme format offered Miró a unique terrain for unfolding the quasi-metabolic features of his language of form and color in never-ending imaginative abundance. On the occasion of the AEPM conference, the roll will be given to the Klingspor Museum by its owner as a permanent loan.
18:30
Dinner

Saturday, 22 May 2021

Saturday, 22 May 2021

In the workshops of the Klingspor Museum and the Haus der Stadtgeschichte Online
11:00 – 13:00
Guided tours of the printing studios in Offenbach – Künstler*innen/Artists – with Anton Würth, Usus, and Phillipp Hennevogl.
11:00
Start Zoom meeting, entry (Central European Summer Time)
13:00 – 14:30
Break
Café trolley and Bierzeltgarnituren at Büsinghof.
11:30
Guided tours of the printing studios in Offenbach with Usus.
14:30
Klingspor Museum collection: the best of.
Open access to the filmed talks and movies on the AEPM-Website (live).
Film about Rainer Gerstenberg one of the last trained type casters, in which he talks about his type foundry and shows his work.
17:00
Farewell: Dr. Stefan Soltek, Dr. Jürgen Eichenauer.